Announcement

The BEAC Forest Forum

ĹAdaptation of forests in the Barents region under the conditions of climate change.

National forest and climate related policy

of the countries of the Council of the Barents / Euro-Arctic Regionĺ

Arkhangelsk, the Russian Federation

The 21st of September, 2017

Forum Barents registration form

The BEAC Forest Forum Adaptation of forests in the Barents region under the conditions of climate change

RECOMMENDATIONS from the Barents Euro-Arctic Council Forest Forum

Presentation

Photos

The International Forest Forum of the Barents/ Euro-Arctic Council (BEAC) on ĹAdaptation of forests in the Barents region under the conditions of climate change. National forest and climate related policy of the countries of the Barents/ Euro-Arctic Region Councilĺ is be held in Arkhangelsk, the Russian Federation, on September 21, 2017.

The event is held by the Federal Forestry Agency and supported by the Government of the Russian Federation.

The agenda of the Forest Forum includes two thematic sessions:

  • The role of forests in adapting to the effects of climate change and mitigating the anthropogenic impact on the climate system;
  • The forest-and-climate policy of the BEAC member-states. Long-term development strategy with low greenhouse gas emissions.

The Forest Forum agenda reflects the issues of vital importance of the countries around the globe related to achieving the decisions of the Paris Agreement to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (2015) and implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals, approved by the Agenda for Sustainable Development for the period to 2030.

The intensive work that is being carried out by states at the global, regional and country levels is aimed at "keeping the increase in the global average temperature well below 2░ C above pre-industrial levels." Reducing emissions is key to achieving this goal. In this regard, it is of particular importance to ensure the sustainable development of forest ecosystems that have important climate-regulating functions. The BEAC countries are committed to the task of preserving and strengthening the capacity of forests to adapt to, as well as to reducing the vulnerability of forests to climate change.

Representatives of federal and regional authorities, science and education, as well as business and private sector of the BEAC countries are invited to participate in the Forest Forum.

The Council of the Barents/ Euro-Arctic Region (BEAC) was established in 1993 as a body for intergovernmental cooperation between Denmark, Iceland, Finland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the Commission of the European Communities to ensure sustainable development of the region, expand bilateral and multilateral cooperation in the fields of economy, trade, science and technology, environment, infrastructure, education and cultural exchanges, tourism, as well as projects aimed at improving the situation of the indigenous population of the North.

The cooperation of countries on forestry issues is carried out by the BEAC Working Group "Barents Forest Sector Network ".

The 2015 ľ 2017 are the years of the Russian Chairmanship at the Barents Euro-Arctic Council.

Reference Information:

The venue of the Forest Forum: Arkhangelsk, Pur-Navolok Hotel, Northern Dvina Naberezhnaya emb. 88.

Working languages: English and Russian.

For participation in the event, please contact the organizers of the Forest Forum:

Tel .: +7916 609 5389 (Maria Sokolenko), +78182 61-26-79 (Natalia Demidova)

E-mail: barentsforest@mail.ru

Информационное сообщение

о проведении международного Лесного форума на тему

«Адаптация лесов в Баренцевом регионе в условиях изменения климата.

Климатическая политика стран-членов

Совета Баренцева/ Евроарктического региона в лесном секторе»

(г. Архангельск, 21 сентября 2017 г.)

Регистрационная форма

Международный Лесной форум Совета Баренцева/ Евроарктического региона (СБЕР) на тему «Адаптация лесов в Баренцевом регионе в условиях изменения климата. Климатическая политика стран-членов Совета Баренцева/ Евроарктического региона в лесном секторе» состоится в Архангельске, Российская Федерация, 21 сентября 2017 г.

Организатором мероприятия является Федеральное агентство лесного хозяйства.

Мероприятие проводится в соответствии с распоряжением Правительства Российской Федерации от 19.12.2015 г. № 2621-р.

Повесткой дня Лесного форума запланированы две тематические сессии:

  • роль лесов в адаптации к последствиям изменения климата и смягчении антропогенного воздействия на климатическую систему;
  • климатическая политика стран-членов СБЕР в лесном секторе. Долгосрочная стратегия развития с низким уровнем выбросов парниковых газов.

Актуальность повестки дня Лесного форума связана с осуществляемой в настоящее время деятельностью мировых держав по достижению решений Парижского соглашения к Рамочной конвенции ООН об изменении климата (2015) и выполнением Целей устойчивого развития, утвержденных Повесткой дня в области устойчивого развития на период до 2030 года.

Интенсивная работа, реализуемая государствами на глобальном, региональных и страновых уровнях, направлена на «удержание прироста глобальной средней температуры намного ниже 2°С сверх доиндустриальных уровней», в том числе путем сокращения выбросов. В этой связи особое значение имеет обеспечение устойчивого развития лесных экосистем, обладающих важнейшими климаторегулирующими функциями. Страны СБЕР ставят перед собой задачи сохранения и укрепления возможностей лесов к адаптации, а также снижения уязвимости лесов к изменениям климата.

К участию в Лесном форуме приглашаются представители федеральных и региональных органов власти, науки и образования, а также бизнеса стран СБЕР.

Совет Баренцева/Евроарктического региона (СБЕР) создан в 1993 году как орган межправительственного взаимодействия России, Дании, Исландии, Норвегии, Финляндии, Швеции и Комиссии Европейских сообществ в интересах обеспечения устойчивого развития региона, расширения двустороннего и многостороннего сотрудничества в области экономики, торговли, науки и техники, окружающей среды, инфраструктуры, образования и культурных обменов, туризма, а также реализации проектов, направленных на улучшение положения коренного населения Севера.

Взаимодействие стран по вопросам развития лесного хозяйства осуществляется рабочей группой СБЕР «Лесная сеть Баренцева региона».

В 2015 – 2017 годах Российская Федерация является Председателем Совета Баренцева/ Евроарктического региона.

Справочная информация

Место проведения Лесного форума:

Российская Федерация, г. Архангельск, отель «Пур-Наволок», набережная Северной Двины, 88.

Рабочие языки: английский и русский.

По вопросам участия в мероприятии просим сообщить по телефонам организаторов Лесного форума:

Тел.: 8916 609 53 89 (Соколенко М. В.),

Тел.: 8182 61-26-79 (Демидова Наталья Анатольевна)

E-mail: barentsforest@mail.ru